A NSW Government website

Minimum Standard

Literacy and Numeracy Tests

Welcome to the Minimum Standard tests

There are three tests you can do:

The Minimum Standard Reading Test:

The reading test assesses comprehension, grammar, punctuation, spelling and vocabulary.

The Minimum Standard Numeracy Test:

The numeracy test assesses number, measurement, space, data and algebraic representation.

The Minimum Standard Writing Test:

The writing test assesses structure and cohesion, vocabulary, grammar, punctuation and spelling.

Demonstration tests

Try the demonstration tests. They can be done at any time and do not require you to log in.

The three tests you can try are:

  • Reading
  • Numeracy
  • Writing

Log in to start tests

You will need a Student Number and PIN to log in and complete the tests. Your school supervisor will provide you with these.

When you log in, a “lock down browser” window will appear. Choose “allow” to load the test. If you can’t load the test please stay in your seat and raise your hand.

Log in below when your supervisor says you can start.